Full version

CSTO leaders extend greetings to new CSTO Secretary General

Politics 28.11.2019 | 14:23

MINSK, 28 November (BelTA) – The CSTO leaders confirmed the appointment of State Secretary of the Security Council of Belarus Stanislav Zas as Secretary General of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) as of 1 January 2020, CSTO Acting Secretary General Valery Semerikov said, according to TASS.

“Today the heads of state congratulated Stanislav Zas, the representative of Belarus, on his appointment to this position as of 1 January 2020,” Valery Semerikov said.

In his words, the decision to appoint Stanislav Zas was taken in accordance with the Collective Security Council's resolution of 2015, which clearly regulates the appointment of secretary general on a rotational basis in accordance with the Russian alphabet. The post was held by Armenia. As of 1 January 2020 it is Belarus' turn. “A representative of Belarus has been appointed,” Valery Semerikov said.

In November 2018, Armenia recalled its representative Yuri Khachaturov from the position as CSTO Secretary General after he had spent a year and a half on the post out of the envisaged three-year term. Valery Semerikov is currently acting as CSTO secretary general.

More about Politics
Full version